Country girl’s final hour

3 08 2011

This is my last night in Monzelfeld.

It’s tragic.

I feel as though I just got here, that I just got adjusted to living in Germany. The novelty has barely worn off and now I have to leave.

It’s true. Foreign exchanges fly by. Especially one that is merely six weeks, a short, short month and a half. I’ve had a melancholy taste in the back of my mouth all day.

The last evening here I spent with my host family, eating, laughing, and joking. For example, I taught my host sister the lyrics to the Star-Spangled Banner, as she’s been wanting to learn the whole time. My host family also finally tried the Asian snacks I brought from America.

We also compared, for some reason, passports and driving licenses. American passports, by the way, are way prettier than German passports. We have fancy images and patriotic quotes on the inside, while the Germans just have… a bird.

American passport pages.

German passport pages.

Until recently, a person’s driver’s license and identification card were two different things here. (Unlike the USA, where your license is also your ID.) Thus on my host parents’ licenses they’ve had the same photo for over 30 years. They showed me these photos, where I had a “moment…”

 

 

I had to finish packing, too. It turns out that my luggage gained 6 pounds! And I can probably say the same for myself.

 

 

And, as a final thank-you, I drew a picture for my host family. Small thanks for everything they’ve done for me!

Bright and early tomorrow morning I leave the countryside for Berlin! The exchange students are meeting there in the same youth hostel where we started. Apparently we’re having a “re-entry and reflection” seminar and then– hopefully, this time!– YFU said we’ll be able to tour Berlin! I’m terribly, terribly sad to leave Monzelfeld– I’ll miss my host family, that’s for sure– but at least I’ll see Berlin once again! The four hours we had before were obviously not enough.

Finally, since I’ll be in Berlin, I won’t have access to internet! Most likely I won’t be able to post again until I reach America, which will be Saturday night. I’ll keep blogging faithfully, though, so expect a string of posts as soon as I have internet again!

For now: Tschüss! Next post coming as soon as I can!

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 08 2011
notlateone

I was actually sad reading this post. 😦 You seem like you’ve had such a wonderful experience and it must be so…mean…to have to leave! But it’s nice you had a little hooray-celebration-bye party with your host family, the drawing you did was beautiful and I bet they loved it. 🙂

I just wanted to say that I have LOVED your blog this summer and I will definitely be keeping up with your main blog (as well as the remaining entries on this one). 🙂

7 08 2011
maniacallycomical

I’m so glad you liked it! Leaving my host family was so sad…. leaving Germany altogether was even worse! But I’m so glad I got to go!

Leave a Reply

